Nine Countries Commit to Conserving Sharks

Written by on February 26, 2014 in Marine Life, Sharks
Shortfin mako shark.

Shortfin mako shark. Photo credit: Mark Conlin, NOAA.

Last week, nine Arab countries signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the Conservation of Migratory Sharks.

At an international workshop on shark conservation supported by the UN, the United Arab Emirates, Comoros, Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Syria and Yemen join 27 other nations that have already signed the MoU. By signing, these nations commit to the conservation of seven migratory species of sharks, including:

  • Great white shark – Carcharodon carcharias
  • Whale shark – Rhincodon typus
  • Basking shark – Cetorhinus maximus
  • Porbeagle – Lamna nasus
  • Spiny dogfish – Squalus acanthias
  • Longfin mako – Isurus paucus
  • Shortfin mako – Isurus oxyrinchus

The coasts of these Arab nations are home to many shark species, including great whites, short fin makos, and whale sharks. Their waters are also home to feeding and breeding areas, making conservation efforts even more important.

To learn more, read the full news release: New Conservation Boost for Sharks in the Middle East and North Africa.

Copyright © 2014 by Marine Science Today, a publication of Marine Science Today LLC.

About the Author

About the Author: Emily Tripp is the Publisher and Editor of She holds marine science and biology degrees from the University of Miami's Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science and a Master of Advanced Studies degree in Marine Biodiversity and Conservation from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. When she's not writing about marine science, she's probably running around outside or playing with her dog. .


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed Find MST on Instagram Connect with MST on Google Plus

Comments are closed.